Thursday, January 1, 2015

Poor, Long suffering Niece

The Daughter of Highland Hall

Carrie Turansky 


Fans of Downton Abbey, Jane Eyre, and Pride & Prejudice will enjoy this pure and inspiring romance
taking place in Edwardian England amid a clash of cultures and changing times.

Eighteen-year-old Katherine Ramsey travels to London with her family to make her debut into society and hopefully find her future husband. Her overbearing aunt insists she must secure a proposal from a wealthy young man who is in line to inherit his father’s title and estate. But Katherine questions her aunt’s plans when she gets to know Jonathan Foster, a handsome medical student and strong Christian who is determined to protect the poor and vulnerable in London’s East End. 

When a family scandal puts a damper on Katherine’s hopes for the season, she has time to volunteer with Jonathan, caring for children in one of London’s poorest areas, and romance blossoms. Katherine’s faith grows and she begins to envision a different future with Jonathan. But when Katherine’s work in the East End puts her in danger, Jonathan distances himself from Katherine to protect her. A wealthy suitor reappears, and Katherine must choose which path to follow. 

     The Daughter of Highland Hall was a really cute read. It is the sequel to the book  The Governess of Highland Hall. I enjoyed the first one, but in some aspects the second fell short. The sequel needs the context of the first book for understanding. 

     I liked seeing what happened to Kate following the emotional events of the first book, but there was such a huge divide between the personality we are presented with in the first and the second that it is tough to reconcile the two. Katherine's Aunt's personality was not, however, different. She was frustratingly similar. Really frustrating. 

     Aside from that, I enjoyed the focus on Kate. She is trying to make her way in this society, a society that the family she is living with has all but spurned, and she only has her ridiculous aunt's plans. For clarification both the aunt and her plans are ridiculous. Kate and Jonathan are adorable together and we get to see the story from both perspectives. I loved seeing all of the realistic problems that a Christian with faith needs to face. 

I've also heard that there will be a third book coming out soon! Keep Reading!

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for my complete and full review. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you so much for commenting. I cannot wait to see what you have to say.